Welcome, Guest. Please login or register.

Login with username, password and session length

 
Advanced search

1097410 Posts in 72524 Topics- by 19564 Members - Latest Member: Lontae
Jump to:  
The Trombone ForumRecent Posts
Pages: [1] 2 3 4 5 6 ... 10
 1 
 on: Today at 07:45 AM 
Started by Bach - Last post by Matt K
There is some reading that is relevant you might want to peruse:

http://tromboneforum.org/index.php?topic=86108.0;
http://tromboneforum.org/index.php?topic=44590.0;


I've even tried 525 slides on bass bells.  On Shires instruments, there is surpisingly less intonation quirks than you'd think... (the 525 through 578 slides all have the same receiver and are very similar if not identical lengths).  I've also experimented with varying sizes between tenor and bass.  In my experience, the best solution is to get a bass and a tenor if you want to play both.  The smaller you get, the easier it tends to be to play but at the expense of depth of sound and the overall timbral palette.  I'm a very bright player though so I have no problems making even a bass rip.  Redline is not a problem for me.  So YMMV.

 2 
 on: Today at 07:42 AM 
Started by GSNEWELL - Last post by John McKevitt
Report them if you think they are scamming. That's what I do.

 3 
 on: Today at 07:40 AM 
Started by alexwill - Last post by alexwill
IVE (maybe archived, not sure) VIDEO on Sunday 2/25@Noon Eastern, 11 Central, 9am Pacific 5pm London, 18h CET, 19h IL/FI/Moscow
on Monday at 1am Beijing, 2am Tokyo, 4am Sydney, 6am NZ here:

https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=PDikswYJG34

Israel Philharmonic
Kirill Petrenko, conductor
Yuja Wang, pianist

Dukas: La Péri
Prokofiev: Piano Concerto no. 3
Stravinsky: Petrouchka

 4 
 on: Today at 07:38 AM 
Started by LeoInFL - Last post by bassmike
The F and Gb springs are the same with an extra wind on the F spring.  The Alessi is similar to a water key spring.  The F and Gb are designed to fit in a hole on the lever and then wrap around the axle.

 5 
 on: Today at 07:33 AM 
Started by Bach - Last post by Bach
As I have both trombones and read the topic „36 slide with 42 bell section“, I am curious what would be the results and your opinions to this  change.
Any thoughts are welcome.

 6 
 on: Today at 07:28 AM 
Started by GSNEWELL - Last post by GSNEWELL
If it sounds too good to be true....

Most of these are hijacked accounts. The bid price doesn't matter because if you click on the description, you'll see that they're trying to sell off-ebay, intending to scam people. 

Yeah, it seems odd.
G

 7 
 on: Today at 07:02 AM 
Started by GSNEWELL - Last post by Euphanasia
Anyone know what the deal is with Rikoo on eBay? Some great horns just posted for silly prices (like $9.27 starting bid). All have only one pic. Yamaha Xeno, Conn Greenhoe, Bach 50B3T, etc.
I saw this a few days ago, too, and then they were gone.
G


If it sounds too good to be true....

Most of these are hijacked accounts. The bid price doesn't matter because if you click on the description, you'll see that they're trying to sell off-ebay, intending to scam people. 

 8 
 on: Today at 06:41 AM 
Started by Sue - Last post by afugate
Here's a link to the Horn Guys site where the have the Bach Centennial advertised for sale.

FYI, the rotor is a Meinlschmidt Open-Flow valve.

https://www.hornguys.com/products/bach-42bof-centennial-model-stradivarius-trombone

--Andy in OKC

 9 
 on: Today at 06:07 AM 
Started by pompatus - Last post by Matt K
That's another good consideration - that the 36 even when removed needs to be further modified to take a large shank leadpipe whereas an aftermarket slide is already good to go.

 10 
 on: Today at 05:53 AM 
Started by drizabone - Last post by Baron von Bone
It seems to matter more to some who are invested in ridiculing the Jesus story.
How do prior versions and/or source material ridicule a story? That's standard issue author interview material.
 
Wouldn't denying those versions and/or source material be a betrayal of the original authors/material, not to mention s rejection of history--a denial of what's real and true?
 
I tried to find out about the first saviour that the book mentions: Thulis of Egypt.  The source for this was the book you referenced "The World's Sixteen Crucified Saviors".  Are you sure that you want to risk your credibility as the champion of truth and epistemic integrity on this book?
Thewhowhatnow?

Pages: [1] 2 3 4 5 6 ... 10