Welcome, Guest. Please login or register.

Login with username, password and session length

Advanced search

1097092 Posts in 72568 Topics- by 19545 Members - Latest Member: cepatinog
Jump to:  
Pages: [1]   Go Down
Print
Author Topic: 'Airy' tone  (Read 1005 times)
andyincov

View Profile
« on: Mar 29, 2017, 11:54AM »

Hi all,

I have developed a new problem (I'm new to the trombone - about 5 months in).

I have found recently that i sometimes get quite 'airy' tone (can't think of a better word) when I play in a way that produced fairly strong tone recently.  Might this suggest some kind of instrument maintenance problem? I play a pawn shop early 80s King 606.

Thanks and feel free to move this post if I have posted in the wrong spot.

Cheers
Andy
bonenick

"Life is change. Growth is optional. Choose wisely."

View Profile WWW
« Reply #1 on: Mar 29, 2017, 12:07PM »

Tell me how to do it  :D I would like to be able to do airy tone on demand (as in sub-tones).

This problem is often seen/heard after excessive pressure/high note playing. I would take some serious rest (start with a full day rest) than start with soft long tones and slur some partial in p or mf. Take often short rests (10-20sec every 2-3 min of playing)

Do you have any double buzz happening?
andyincov

View Profile
« Reply #2 on: Mar 29, 2017, 12:10PM »

Tell me how to do it  :D I would like to be able to do airy tone on demand (as in sub-tones).

This problem is often seen/heard after excessive pressure/high note playing. I would take some serious rest (start with a full day rest) than start with soft long tones and slur some partial in p or mf. Take often short rests (10-20sec every 2-3 min of playing)

Do you have any double buzz happening?

Thanks - I'll try that

No double buzzing
uncle duke

View Profile
« Reply #3 on: Mar 29, 2017, 07:07PM »