Welcome, Guest. Please login or register.

Login with username, password and session length

 
Advanced search

1092910 Posts in 72340 Topics- by 19432 Members - Latest Member: joshealejo
Jump to:  
Pages: [1]   Go Down
Print
Author Topic: New Firefox Quantum  (Read 571 times)
0 Members and 1 Guest are viewing this topic.
Larry Preston Roberson
*
Offline Offline

Location: Georgia
Joined: May 24, 2016
Posts: 142

View Profile
« on: Nov 18, 2017, 04:17PM »

So, I just downloaded the New Firefox Quantum. Or, rather my computer updated when I booted up. It seems faster as Mozilla claims. I haven't checked out all the features yet. Supposedly, it's supposed to be a new build verses an overhaul. Is that even possible to implement without shutting down the servers; It's been a while since I studied networking. Anyway, I will say that they've FINALLY given the user the ability to "Duplicate Tab" (clone) without add-ons or keyboard input; Just right-click and select. A much needed and long over due feature in my opinion.
Logged
Matt K

*
*
Offline Offline

Location:
Joined: May 6, 2010
Posts: 7256

View Profile
« Reply #1 on: Nov 18, 2017, 05:49PM »

Yeah I'm digging the new update.  Much leaner than it used to be.  They overhauled a lot of the backend, which is why some legacy extensions no longer work... but also why its much leaner now. They removed a lot of bloat. 


As far as pushing out a patch vs. a new application, the procedure isn't all that different. And for high-volume downloads like Firefox, they have the updates cached on various locations throughout the world so you don't have to have your machine go all the way to, say, their California server to get it. And most places like that also have scalable infrastructure, so in other words, if they're getting his particularly hard, more servers fire up and deliver the content. Then when the demand subsides, so too do the servers.
Logged

What's in a name? that which we call a tenor-bass posaune
By any other name would smell as sweet;
SilverBone
Put the Cool in "Coulisse!"

*
Offline Offline

Location: Portland, OR
Joined: Sep 16, 2006
Posts: 3848

View Profile
« Reply #2 on: Nov 18, 2017, 10:53PM »

I've been using the new Firefox for a few days now, and overall I'm quite pleased with it. It is noticeably faster.

The most important add-ons to me are Quantum-compatible, or I was able to find a Quantum-compatible substitute.

The add-on I miss the most is Tab Mix Plus.

There are a couple minor GUI annoyances (square tabs, tabs insist on positioning above the URL bar) that I was able to address with userChrome.

I have not yet found a way to have an Add On Bar, a real replacement for Lazarus (which has been dead for a while prior to Quantum - TextAreaCache is sort of a replacement), or a downloads window.  None of these are deal-killers.

Haha, Lazarus is dead...
Logged

-Howard

The nastiest fellow I've known
Smashed his trombone and ruined its tone.
There's a simple excuse
For his slush pump abuse:
He was born to be bad to the bone.
SilverBone
Put the Cool in "Coulisse!"

*
Offline Offline

Location: Portland, OR
Joined: Sep 16, 2006
Posts: 3848

View Profile
« Reply #3 on: Nov 18, 2017, 11:12PM »

Forgot to say about two more fixable annoyances:

By default a new tab is opened to the right of the active tab.  But I want the new tab to be far right:  In about:config, browser.tabs.insertRelatedAfterCurrent set false.

The default display on a new page was very annoying to me.  Start a new page and click the gear icon in the upper right to clean it up.  I disabled everything to my new page starts out blank.

Logged

-Howard

The nastiest fellow I've known
Smashed his trombone and ruined its tone.
There's a simple excuse
For his slush pump abuse:
He was born to be bad to the bone.
BGuttman
Mad Chemist

*
*
Offline Offline

Location: Londonderry, NH, USA
Joined: Dec 12, 2000
Posts: 51530
"Almost Professional"


View Profile
« Reply #4 on: Nov 22, 2017, 11:59AM »

Maybe I'm missing something.

My Linux Mint system decided tu upgrade me to Firefox Quantum.  It's pretty much like the old one, but --

I used to have a direct link to bookmarks (next to the star in the URL window).  Now it seems I have to open the Library to get to the list of bookmarks (along with a number of other things that used to be in the Utilities button).

Is there a tweak so I can make it like it was?
Logged

Bruce Guttman
Solo Trombone, Hollis Town Band
Merrimack Valley Philharmonic Orch. President 2017-2018
Posaunus
*
Offline Offline

Location: California
Joined: Feb 20, 2014
Posts: 724

View Profile
« Reply #5 on: Nov 22, 2017, 12:39PM »

I used to have a direct link to bookmarks (next to the star in the URL window).  Now it seems I have to open the Library to get to the list of bookmarks (along with a number of other things that used to be in the Utilities button).

Is there a tweak so I can make it like it was?

Had the same problem.  Solution: Right-click in the top line (to the right of your tabs) and select "Menu Bar" - voilą - the old options return (File, Edit, View, History, Bookmarks, Tools, Help).  Prayer answered! 
Logged
BGuttman
Mad Chemist

*
*
Offline Offline

Location: Londonderry, NH, USA
Joined: Dec 12, 2000
Posts: 51530
"Almost Professional"


View Profile
« Reply #6 on: Nov 22, 2017, 02:08PM »

Thanks for the suggestion.

Found another solution.  Under the Utilities tab (3 horizontal bars) there is something called "Customization".  You can drag icons to the URL bar that do different things.  I found one that does bookmarks.  Also added one that does scale since I often toggle between 80% and 125% (and anything in between).

Actually better than the old thing! Good!
Logged

Bruce Guttman
Solo Trombone, Hollis Town Band
Merrimack Valley Philharmonic Orch. President 2017-2018
Pages: [1]   Go Up
Print
Jump to: