re-starting trombone player needs tons of advice

(1/3) > >>

boris152:
Hello, everyone. This is my first post to OTJ (and I think only my second post on the internet in my life). I'd like to start out by saying that I am very surprised how good-natured and helpful everyone seems to be here. I rarely ever see that online. I guess I'm just looking in the wrong places.  :)

Here's my situation: I played trombone for only 4 years in school. I absolutely loved it, but it was as a young kid with his hobby. A combination of moving from central Florida to middle-of-nowhere rural Illinois right at the beginning of highschool and getting braces on my teeth did a lot to discourage my middle-teenaged self. First I quit band, then I quit playing all together.

Fast forward about 9 years. I'm a recent collage graduate (delayed due to military) realizing there are a lot of things I used to do I really want to start again. And I happen to love "middle-of-nowhere" rural Illinois. :)