Welcome, Guest. Please login or register.

Login with username, password and session length

Advanced search

949855 Posts in 62848 Topics- by 15168 Members - Latest Member: zachjacobs
Jump to:  
The Trombone ForumTeaching & LearningPedagogy(Moderators: JP, Doug Elliott) New lip slurs book by Dr. Brad Edwards
Pages: [1]   Go Down
Print
Author Topic: New lip slurs book by Dr. Brad Edwards  (Read 2846 times)
Dan Hine

View Profile WWW
« on: May 06, 2006, 11:31AM »

I was a student of Dr. Edwards at USC (Carolina) for a few years and have an "early edition" of this book.  It's a great resource and has gotten some wonderful reviews.  Check out what the Pro's are saying:

http://bonezone.org/bio/publications.htm

- Dan Hine

David Schwartz

View Profile WWW
« Reply #1 on: Jun 25, 2006, 01:50PM »

Lip Slurs: Progressive Exercises for the Development of Tone and Technique[/i] is a great resource!  It is full of concise guidance and pleasant exercises which will develop not just tone and technique, but rhythm and intonation as well.  Dr. Edwards' instructions are succinct and well placed.

Dr. Edwards likes to encourage trombonists to play simple melodies, and he brings that point of view to his slurs.  The book has, in its 84 pages, (1) lots of  slow slurs, (2) lots of fast slurs, and (3) twenty pleasant melodies that can be played without tonguing!  It also has suggested routines suggested at six levels of difficulty.

Pedagogy has come a long way since my teacher, John Coffey, implored his students, "Keep up with the blow, kid," or "Tongue and blow."   Brad Edwards' new book is really one up on the legato style teachers and the Caruso and Stamp disciples.  His arpeggiated and melodic slur exercises, with his articulate instructions, give us interesting material to practice.

At $16, the book is a bargain, too.

I found my copy at Hickey's, where it's item 58960.

David

David A. Schwartz, Belmont, Massachusetts
Bordogni and Breakfast Website
mmitchell

View Profile