Welcome, Guest. Please login or register.

Login with username, password and session length

Advanced search

1087406 Posts in 72027 Topics- by 19247 Members - Latest Member: jasonsato1
Jump to:  
Pages: [1]   Go Down
Print
Author Topic: Ohio  (Read 3168 times)
jhallohio

View Profile
« on: Jul 14, 2007, 08:03PM »

Im a junior in high school and have been trying to think of a college with a good music program, not only for trombone, but for all aspects of music.  I also wanted to ask about Universtiy Of Dayton's music program.  They are close and have offered me some money to go play for them.  But as having a couple more years to search, I would  like to have some suggestions to help ease the search

ya, my common sense locked up the child in me behind bars ... but only it was on the wrong side.
Dave Joyce

View Profile
« Reply #1 on: Jul 14, 2007, 09:18PM »

Perhaps you have heard of Miami University in Oxford, Ohio - it's about 45 minutes north of Cincinnati.  I graduated from Miami in trombone performance.

http://www.fna.muohio.edu/musweb/

The main draw for a guy like you, in my opinion, would be to work with Jaime Morales Matos, the trombone professor there.  He is a phenomenal player - extremely musical in his phrasing, great concept of sound, and an extremely charismatic and entertaining performer.  He taught me soooo much about playing and performing.  It's also a smaller studio and you'll have the opportunity for some more individual attention than you might get at a conservatory like CCM (which, don't get me wrong, is a great school).   

Miami is also quite strong in it's World music programs, with a fast growing "Global Rhythms" ensemble, Balinese Gamelan ensembles, Steel Drum Bands, etc.

If you're going into Jazz... forget it.  Miami is admittedly not the place for you.  But if you're wanting to go the classical route, I'd seriously consider Miami and try to arrange a lesson with Jaime - you'd be hard pressed to find a more enjoyable teacher.