Welcome, Guest. Please login or register.

Login with username, password and session length

Advanced search

1087070 Posts in 71980 Topics- by 19233 Members - Latest Member: Midnight1961
Jump to:  
Pages: [1] 2 3 4  All   Go Down
Print
Author Topic: Looking For A Good Jazz Trombone  (Read 29309 times)
nickrex37

View Profile WWW
« on: Feb 09, 2008, 05:20PM »

I am a freshman in college and have a huge interest in jazz. Right now i use a Conn 88HO for wind ensemble/orchestra. So al of the classical stuff that isnt so demanding of range i use the concert horn for. Well in jazz i play lead and i use a King student model thats a few years old. I talked to my director about it and he said that a pro horn might help you in a lot of ways. I researched jazz horns and talked to them with my lesson teacher. Horns that i am mainly deciding on at the moment are the King 2B, Bach 16m (One that Bill Watrous uses I believe), and the Edwards jazz model. The Edwards seems a little overwhelming with all the options available, but it might be worth it. I am just curious if anyone can shed any light about which one of these horns is the best for lead playing and if theres a better model i would be happy to hear about that too.
JacobEdwards91

View Profile
« Reply #1 on: Feb 09, 2008, 05:25PM »

Send DJ Kennedy a private message here on the forum.  I recently purchased a '62 King 3B from DJ.  It's a great horn.  He could definitely help you find a great horn, too.

St. Louis Symphony Youth O
BGuttman
Mad Chemist

"Almost Professional"

View Profile
« Reply #2 on: Feb 09, 2008, 05:58PM »

That's quite a variety of different "jazz" horns you picked.

The King 2B is a small dual-bore (.481/.491"), the Bach 16M is a .508" bore, and the Eddie is normally 0.500 or 0.508" bore.  They also command many different prices.