Welcome, Guest. Please login or register.

Login with username, password and session length

Advanced search

923972 Posts in 60514 Topics- by 14509 Members - Latest Member: TheSwordwalker
Jump to:  
Pages: [1]   Go Down
Print
Author Topic: Gum graft(?) and what to expect  (Read 5473 times)
peter_trb3

View Profile WWW
« on: Mar 18, 2008, 06:39AM »

:cry:

Have a consultation with a periodontist coming up to look after some recession in my gums. My dentist spoke of the possibility of a graft of gum tissue from the roof of my mouth to the affected areas on my gums. What can I expect regarding recovery times and effect on playing?

I am a professional orchestral bass trombonist and as it stands now this regular season looks to be ending in June. However I am planning on playing the Honolulu Symphony audition and the Buffalo Phil audition which are late May and early June respectively. I thought that I would schedule any dental work for after those events so as not to lose any prep time.

Additional info: I'm 39 y/o and in very good health. I am embarking on a bit more of an exercise regimen leading up to these auditions to maintain that good health and to offset all the sitting and practicing.

Thoughts are appreciated.

Good!

Peter Collins
Bass Trombone
Hamilton Philharmonic Orchestra
www.wesmoredigital.ca
Orestes
Bone Vivant

"Bone Vivant"

View Profile WWW
« Reply #1 on: Mar 18, 2008, 11:38AM »