Welcome, Guest. Please login or register.

Login with username, password and session length

Advanced search

1087252 Posts in 72010 Topics- by 19242 Members - Latest Member: simonvd
Jump to:  
The Trombone ForumTeaching & LearningBeginners and Returning Trombonists(Moderator: bhcordova) New to Trombone - I have some questions!
Pages: [1]   Go Down
Print
Author Topic: New to Trombone - I have some questions!  (Read 6581 times)
*musicislove*
« on: Oct 13, 2008, 09:39AM »

Hello fellow musicians!

I'll introduce myself: I'm a high school student and I have been playing saxophone for five years. I love music and when I go to college I'm planning on finding a path to a music career. Anyways, I have always really liked the trombone and love listening to players like Fred Wesley and JJ Johnson. So I decided to begin learning how to play.
So that leads me to my questions:
Which brand(s) of trombone are your favorite or would you recommend for beginners?
What do the numbers for the mouthpieces mean, and what should I start with?
Are there any music pieces or lesson books that you have found useful?
Can you tell me any other tips or random info?

I recently joined The Trombone Forum and this is my first post, so if I should change anything next time feel free to critique my writing skills   :D
Thanks in advance,
Stephanie
BGuttman
Mad Chemist

"Almost Professional"

View Profile
« Reply #1 on: Oct 13, 2008, 10:05AM »

Hi Stephanie, and welcome Hi

Seems like a simple question, but it gets pretty deep.

For beginners, I like to recommend a typical Student trombone, or a professional trombone that is about .500" bore (12.7 mm).  A trombone should have a freely moving slide and no major "crush" areas in the tubing.  Older student horns tend to collect a bunch of dents on the bow at the end of the slide and also at the tuning slide (which goes over your shoulder).