Welcome, Guest. Please login or register.

Login with username, password and session length

Advanced search

949786 Posts in 62839 Topics- by 15168 Members - Latest Member: zachjacobs
Jump to:  
Pages: [1] 2  All   Go Down
Print
Author Topic: How to use Trombotine  (Read 7098 times)
TomMapfumo

View Profile
« on: Apr 07, 2009, 02:35AM »

Hi There!

I am a newbie to the 'bone (been playing the trumpet/cornet/flugelhorn for 3 years) and have just had my second lesson.  I recently ordered Trombotine & Superslick slide products and was surprised that the Trombotine came with no instructions.

I just need to know the way to apply it best to the slide (just on its own, or with a sprinkle of water etc.).  I currently use Blue Juice which I applied with a cloth and seems very slippery.

Any guidance most welcome!
Kind regards
Tom Way cool

Olds S15 Super Tenor (1950)/ Marcinkiewicz ET3 Loper
Olds Ambassador Bb/F Bass/Marc ET3 Loper
Martin Imperial Tenor (1953)/ Marc ET1.7* Whigham
Weril G670WL Tenor / Marc ET3 Loper
JP 231 Rath Tenor/ Marcinkiewicz ET2 MacDougall
King 4B Bb/F Tenor/ Sc
vegasbound

"Get your tee shirt from http://www.derekwatkins.co"

View Profile
« Reply #1 on: Apr 07, 2009, 02:41AM »

Imho I would suggest that this is something to discuss with your teacher, ask him to show you how to clean the slide properly.

use to using trombotine a small amount aplied to the slide stockings, then work the outer slide up and down to spread it very thinly over the length of the tubes, then mist with your water spray.

easier to demonstrate than write.

'There will never come a day when I don't need to practice'- JJ Johnson
nopos

View Profile
« Reply #2 on: Apr 07, 2009, 03:03AM »

Christan Griego shows how to properly clean and lube a trombone slide:

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=0-5qYuIlrh0&feature=player_embedded
TomMapfumo

View Profile
« Reply #3 on: Apr 07, 2009, 04:27AM »