Welcome, Guest. Please login or register.

Login with username, password and session length

Advanced search

952935 Posts in 62839 Topics- by 15308 Members - Latest Member: TolgaAkman
Jump to:  
Pages: [1]   Go Down
Print
Author Topic: Trombone High Notes  (Read 1340 times)
Derek13

View Profile
« on: May 27, 2012, 07:40PM »

I've been playing trombone since August of 2010. Recently I learned Bb second octaves. I can play up to the high high A but when I get to the Bb it kinda wavers in sound. How can I improve my sound on high notes? 
Matt K

View Profile
« Reply #1 on: May 27, 2012, 08:12PM »

First:

Find a teacher who knows enough to tell if you are doing the right things with your embouchure.

Secondly:

Play.  I've found that after doing even the most rigorous of routines for a long time, comparatively... nothing helps my high chops more than just playing through etudes for an hour or two a day. 

What's in a name? that which we call a tenor-bass posaune
By any other name would smell as sweet;
Derek13

View Profile
« Reply #2 on: May 27, 2012, 08:18PM »

I have two but ones a school teacher who I don't know how to contact. The others a high school student I don't want to disturb they're summer. But I'll see if he can help.

Thanks for the tip on etudes will have to find me some
BGuttman
Mad Chemist

"Almost Professional"

View Profile
« Reply #3 on: May 27, 2012, 08:25PM »

First get this:

http://tromboneforum.org/index.php/topic,62067.0.html

Then do a little searching on "range building" (or rangebuilding).  We must have DOZENS of threads with almost the same suggestions.

Bruce Guttman
Solo Trombone, Hollis Town Band
Section Ldr, Merrimack Valley Philharmonic Orch.
Matt K

View Profile
« Reply #4 on: May 27, 2012, 08:39PM »

What state are you located in?  People on the forums can point you in the right direction.  If you're anywhere near Maryland, Doug Elliott wholeheartedly gets my endorsement. 

What's in a name? that which we call a tenor-bass posaune