Welcome, Guest. Please login or register.

Login with username, password and session length

Advanced search

1087332 Posts in 72017 Topics- by 19243 Members - Latest Member: CABurton159
Jump to:  
Pages: [1] 2  All   Go Down
Print
Author Topic: G&W Jazz Line  (Read 5806 times)
TromboneMonkey

View Profile
« on: Aug 30, 2013, 01:33PM »

Howdy,

I've been toying with G&W jazz pieces here for the past several months and I'd like to share some of my observations.  I think it's a very interesting line that would benefit from further development, which it seems is in the works.  I've been very impressed with their service and product quality.  What follows will purely be observations about the mouthpieces themselves. 

At first I ordered the Chocolatero and the Chubasco.  Right off the bat I preferred the Chocolatero.  The Chubasco is just too much car for me.  It feels about like a Bach 7 (no 'c').  Deeper than it needs to be, imo, and wider than I like.  Not like an 11c at all (as its description claims...).  The articulations on it were good, but it nevertheless felt tubby.  If I was going to play screaming salsa on a 3b I might like it, but for big band/bebopy stuff it's just way too much. 

The Chocolatero is interesting.  It feels like an 11c in width to me, but it's definitely more funnel-shaped than even the older 11cs and definitely newer ones/copies.  I'm used to Doug's C-cup, which is about the same depth, but much more bowl-shaped.  The funnel allows for clarity and good flexibility, but at the cost of easy slotting and rapid-fire articulations.  The steel helps out some with the articulations but further complicates the slotting (ymmv).