Welcome, Guest. Please login or register.

Login with username, password and session length

Advanced search

1087406 Posts in 72027 Topics- by 19247 Members - Latest Member: jasonsato1
Jump to:  
Pages: [1] 2 3  All   Go Down
Print
Author Topic: Best Slide Lubricant  (Read 8416 times)
Taytay051

View Profile
« on: Mar 14, 2014, 06:24PM »

A quick Background on me:
I started Playing Brass a few years back now, I've played an Eb bass, baritone horn, trumpet etc, but have really settled into the trombone. However i rented instruments through my school, so naturally they're terrible. Nothing provided settled my quench for nice playing, Yamaha, bachs, holtons, kings even boosey and hawks, nothing sounded good to me. I finally ended up buying a cheap pea shooter (a small bore pan american, no hate please :-)) and love it tremendously.

However going back to all my trials and even my Pan Am they all have had terrible slides. admittedly some were quite damaged. but focusing back to my pan am, its actually not damaged. its not brilliant but the cost of getting the slide alligned any futher would be much more the price of the instrument, so to ensure I am getting the best out of it, and any other trombone what are your thoughts on lubricants?

Creams V Oils V Snot, what are the pros and cons of each?
What suits what type of horn?
experiences with certain types?

please, any information regarding lubricants is welcomed, reading online has left me quite confused. 

Its is worth noting:
-I have tried slide o mix and it works for a few days on my horn before need for re- application
-I currently use yamaha slide cream but it requires so much water!
-Realignment isn't easy here (new zealand) as only two companies here do it, so it is costly and involves losing your horn for at least 3 weeks.
BGuttman
Mad Chemist

"Almost Professional"

View Profile
« Reply #1 on: Mar 14, 2014, 06:43PM »

There must be over 100 threads on slide lubricants and searching might find some gems.