Welcome, Guest. Please login or register.

Login with username, password and session length

 
Advanced search

1080958 Posts in 71554 Topics- by 19061 Members - Latest Member: Solitario85
Jump to:  
The Trombone ForumTown HallComments and Suggestions(Moderators: rlb, blast, BFW) Problem with Chrome after Win 10 update
Pages: [1]   Go Down
Print
Author Topic: Problem with Chrome after Win 10 update  (Read 901 times)
0 Members and 1 Guest are viewing this topic.
Piano man
*
Offline Offline

Location:
Joined: Feb 10, 2006
Posts: 9860

View Profile
« on: Sep 25, 2016, 01:20PM »

I went to use my computer from sleep mode this morning and it immediately restarted and began a lengthy and unbidden Win 10 update. Now TF loads spottily in Chrome. Specifically it loads only the top part of most Windows on first try, but I can eventually get a usable window eventually by paging back and trying again or reloading the page until it loads properly. Windows Edge (which I don't use, and which seemed to replace Explorer on Win 10) seems to load it properly.

Two questions:
1) Does this have anything to do with something happening at the TF, or is this a problem with the new v. of Win 10?
2) Has anyone else seen this problem, or have an idea as to what would cause it? My Chrome shows no available updates.
Logged

"What gets us into trouble is not what we don't know, it's what we know for sure that just ain't so." --Mark Twain
Matt K

*
*
Offline Offline

Location:
Joined: May 6, 2010
Posts: 7042

View Profile
« Reply #1 on: Sep 25, 2016, 01:29PM »

Try clearing your cache. It sounds like something got corrupted that isn't letting it load in Chrome properly.
Logged

What's in a name? that which we call a tenor-bass posaune
By any other name would smell as sweet;
Piano man
*
Offline Offline

Location:
Joined: Feb 10, 2006
Posts: 9860

View Profile
« Reply #2 on: Sep 25, 2016, 04:03PM »

Sorry for my ignorance. Is the cache in Win or Chrome, and how do I clear it?
Logged

"What gets us into trouble is not what we don't know, it's what we know for sure that just ain't so." --Mark Twain
BGuttman
Mad Chemist

*
*
Offline Offline

Location: Londonderry, NH, USA
Joined: Dec 12, 2000
Posts: 50857
"Almost Professional"


View Profile
« Reply #3 on: Sep 25, 2016, 05:09PM »

It's in Chrome.  The three vertical dots open a menu that allows a number of options.  Under "More Tools" you will find "Clear Browsing Data".  That is the cache Matt is talking about.

Note that I got that same update and didn't have your problem and I use Chrome.
Logged

Bruce Guttman
Solo Trombone, Hollis Town Band
Merrimack Valley Philharmonic Orch. President 2017-2018
Matt K

*
*
Offline Offline

Location:
Joined: May 6, 2010
Posts: 7042

View Profile
« Reply #4 on: Sep 25, 2016, 05:22PM »

Yeah, sorry. Bruce is correct, the cache in Chrome.  Basically what happens is when the page is loaded in chrome, or any browser, it sporadically will get some information and save it to the hard drive. Things like the background images and whatnot. In laymens terms, the problem is if one of them gets saved while something goes to sleep or has an update that interrupts this process, something can get corrupted.
Logged

What's in a name? that which we call a tenor-bass posaune
By any other name would smell as sweet;
Pages: [1]   Go Up
Print
Jump to: